NCR PPG 13 drivers
Published on May 18th 2018 in

Lucky thirteen

While some believe thirteen is an unlucky number, it is doubtful any of the guests at PPG’s recent WA V8 Drivers’ Night thought it was anything but a remarkable stroke of luck to have the chance to see thirteen stars of the Supercars championship in one place.

Held on the Thursday evening before the Perth Supersprint round, the event attracted over 100 people (including customers and suppliers) to PPG’s WA headquarters. With the cream of Supercars teams choosing to use PPG coatings to keep their cars looking great throughout the rough and tumble of on-track action, having them in town was an opportunity too good to miss.

“It was an amazing atmosphere as the drivers from eight different teams mingling with guests”, said Jeremy Aitken, PPG Business Development & Key Account Manager.

“We had food and refreshments, a classic car display and a very cool driving simulator, where Bathurst was definitely the favourite track, but everyone really came to meet their driving heroes. All the drivers were terrific. They gave plenty of their time to talk with people, sign posters, hats, etc. and have photos taken with them, as well as participate in a Q&A session about the upcoming races. It was particularly good to see so many kids having a fantastic time and getting photos taken with their favourite drivers.”

“When you think about it, having thirteen drivers and around 100 people is a pretty good ratio and it gave everyone an extremely rare opportunity to actually chat to the drivers. To cap it off, there were goody bags for the kids and some terrific door prizes, including jackets, shirts, caps and free tickets to the Supercars event.”

“People could also book a PPG Pit Tour on Saturday or Sunday to get an insight into the drivers’ work environment. It was an excellent evening and we are already working on making it even bigger and better next year!”

The thirteen drivers were:

  • Tim Blanchard and Tim Slade, Brad Jones Racing
  • Fabian Coulthard and Scott McLaughlin, DJR Team Penske
  • David Reynolds and Anton De Pasquale, Erebus Motorsport
  • Todd Hazelwood, Matt Stone Racing
  • Michael Caruso, Nissan Motorsport
  • Lee Holdsworth, Preston Hire Racing
  • Cameron Waters and Richie Stanaway, Tickford Racing
  • Scott Pye and James Courtney, Walkinshaw Andretti United

Industry Partners